Library Locator

Gunnoe Re-elected as Chairman of the WVLC


​​The West Virginia Library Commission re-elected Commissioner Betty Gunnoe as Commission Chairman at its regular meeting on April 26, 2019.  The Library Commission consists of nine members who are appointed by the Governor, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate.  The Commission selects its own chairman.

Commissioner Gunnoe represents the Second Congressional District from her home in Martinsburg, West Virginia.  One of the longest serving members of the commission, she joined the WVLC in 2009, and has served as Chairman since 2010.  Commissioner Gunnoe graduated from Shepherd University and spent 41 years working at the Martinsburg Public Library, including a term as interim library director from 2000 to 2001.  She is a former Martinsburg City Council member and currently serves as program chair of the Scarborough Society, the funding arm of the Shepherd University Ruth Scarborough Library.

Also, at its April meeting, Commissioner Sean Duffy submitted his resignation.  Duffy had served on the Commission since being appointed by Governor Jim Justice in September 2017.  A Wheeling resident, Duffy represented the First Congressional District.

The remaining members of the West Virginia Library Commission include:

  • Charles A. Julian, Ph.D., First Congressional District
  • Mary Bland Strickland, First Congressional District
  • Debra K. Sullivan, Second Congressional District
  • Katy White, Second Congressional District
  • David Nalker, Third Congressional District
  • Connie Shumate, Third Congressional District
  • Dennis Taylor, Third Congressional District

Contact Information