Library Locator

ABOS Annual Awards


The Association of Bookmobile and Outreach Services (ABOS) offers annual awards that recognize outstanding service, support for conference attendance, and the education of a student currently enrolled in a Library Science degree program.  Applications are now being accepted for these awards.

John Philip Excellence in Outreach Award - $300
The ABOS John Philip Award is given to recognize outstanding contributions and prominent leadership by an individual in Bookmobile and Outreach Services. John Philip, known to all as "Mr. Bookmobile", spent his long and honorable career as an advocate of Bookmobile and Outreach Services. John Philip passed away on February 1, 2016. He is the "Father" of the National Bookmobile Conference which started in 1986 and has now evolved into the Association of Bookmobile and Outreach Services. Through his strong leadership and high profile advocacy, Bookmobiles have been recognized as a viable library outreach service. This award honors his dedication and tireless work and serves as a pinnacle for all Bookmobile and Outreach staff to aspire to reach.

Carol Hole Conference Attendance Award - Three (3) $500 travel grants
Carol Combs Hole provided exemplary leadership on behalf of libraries, bookmobile and outreach services throughout her 32 year career as a professional public librarian. She retired from distinguished service to the Alachua County Library District on March 1, 2006 and died on October 1, 2007. The three (3) $500 travel grants include free conference registration and a stipend for travel expenses and/or accommodations for the conference. The 2019 Conference will be held in Omaha, Nebraska on October 23-25, 2019 at the Embassy Suites Downtown/Old Market. The winners automatically will be registered for the conference. Carol Hole Award winners will be notified by August 23, 2019.

Bernard Vavrek Scholarship - $1,000
In order to contribute to the education and training of library staff working in the area of bookmobile and outreach services, ABOS has created the Bernard Vavrek Scholarship. It is awarded annually to a student who has been accepted into or is currently enrolled in a Library and/or Information Science graduate degree program at an ALA accredited school, and who is interested in this particular field within the library profession. A check will be sent directly to the ALA accredited library school where the applicant is currently enrolled to be applied to the next term of study. Dr. Bernard Vavrek, Professor of Library Science and Chair of the Library Science Department at Clarion University, retired after teaching at Clarion from 1971-2008. He co-founded with John Philip the "Great American Bookmobile Conference", running it for many years until ABOS was formed and took over management of the conference.  This scholarship honors Dr. Vavrek's profound commitment to librarianship.

For more information on how to apply, visit the ABOS website.

Contact Information